Welcome to Curriculum Connection


The Curriculum Connection began in 2009 through a writing project of Pima County JTED. Today Curriculum Connection members include Career and Technical Education Districts (CTED) as well as Public, Private, and Charter High Schools.

Our Guiding Actions

TO PROVIDE teachers with quality, relevant, and engaging curriculum aligned to CTE program standards to support teacher and student success and retention.

TO COLLABORATE with key stakeholders and utilize qualitative and quantitative data to guide the development of curriculum and resources.

TO CONNECT educators to a dynamic collection of resources and collaboration opportunities to support quality CTE programs.

To contact us and learn more about our resources click here.

Steering Committee

Stephen Weltsch, President
Assistant Superintendent of Teaching, Learning, and Campus Operations, Western Maricopa Education Center (West-MEC)
Shaun Rose, Secretary
CTE Student Services Director, Mountain Institute CTED
Michelle Crary, Treasurer
Career Readiness Coordinator, Gilbert Public Schools
Debby Kidwell
Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment Specialist Career and Technical Education, Deer Valley Unified School District
Tonia Flanagan
Support Services Coordinator, Western Arizona Vocational Education (WAVE)
Aron Schmidt
Director of CTE and High School Instruction, Vail Unified School District
Thomas Bogart
Chief Financial Officer, Pima County JTED (Pima JTED)

Curriculum Connection Staff

Jennifer Brooks
Assistant Director
Raynae Roberts
Administrative Assistant
Debbie MacKinney
Curriculum Writer
Lacey Peebles
Curriculum Writer
Deb Zurcher


Each AZCTECC Member selects a designee as the point of contact and to vote to elect the at-large steering committee. Below are the current AZCTECC Members and their selected designee.

If you are interested in becoming a member, please contact us at hello@ctecaz.org.

Arizona Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
Designee: Scott Madsen scott.madsen@asdb.az.gov
Mesa Public Schools
Designee: Serenity Gielau
Pima County JTED
Designee: Curt Bertelsen